top of page

Where is God Leading You?

The Word

He guides me in the paths of righteousness

For His name’s sake.


Talk it Out

The NIV says, "right paths." Peterson says "the right direction." No matter the poetic translation, I tend to prefer the NASB on this one. The word "righteousness" adds an element of holiness to the "right path" on which God leads me to travel.


It's not that I am righteousness and holy, but He is righteous and holy. It's like that old hymn declares (and teaches): this is all my righteousness/nothing but the blood of Jesus. He's why I am blameless in God's eyes. It's not me. It's Jesus. And it's not for my sake that He leads me on paths of righteousness but for His sake.


The path of righteousness is not Easy Street. The road to the cross debunks that myth, and just take a peek at verse four! The call to follow Christ is not for the faint of heart, though He offers rest along the way.


The pressure that comes with "the high road" dissolves like mountain snow when I remember:

  • He's the one leading me

  • He's the one who makes the path righteous

  • He's the one for whom I travel


All that's left for me to do is walk.


Walk it Out


Which self-imposed standards have kept you from simply walking where God's leading?


Which self-imposed fears have kept you from simply walking where God's leading?




23 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page