top of page

Handiwork

Some translations say “workmanship” and others say “creation.” I love “handiwork.” When I read Ephesians 2:10 in the updated New International Version, I hear my mom asking me, “Did you bring your handiwork along?” What she means is, “Did you bring along your latest crochet project?”

My Grandma Arlis taught me to crochet and in college I made dishcloths exclusively, enough to supply the Food Zoo Cafeteria dishwashers for life. Or at least four years. When I became a wife, I kicked it into high gear and now crochet newborn hats, owl coasters, and even bow ties for prairie dogs. It’s domestic, fun, and personal. Anything made by hand is like that. Handmade gifts are created carefully and lovingly with the receiver in mind. When I reach for my rose pink afghan blanket, I picture my Grandma Sarah crafting each stitch meticulously. I study her handiwork and sense her love for me.

In Ephesians 2:10, we are “God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” When I read this verse, I picture God handling our lives and our hearts carefully and lovingly. With expert skill and unmatched patience He daily works on our hearts so that we might be of use and beautiful. He’s been thoughtfully at work in you since the day you were formed (Psalm 139:15) and will not stop until you are made complete in Him (Philippians 1:6).

But all this meticulous work is not for His good pleasure or your benefit alone, but also for the benefit of others. Handmade gifts are created with receivers in mind. Consider your ministry, your mission, your passion, “the good works” God created you to do. Then remind yourself of that wonderful truth that you are God’s handiwork, created for a one-of-a-kind, beautiful purpose. How amazing to sense God’s love for us in the way works on our hearts. How amazing to know that through our hearts others might sense God’s love for them.

Prayer: Lord, thank you that I’m “fearfully and wonderfully made” so that I might bring You glory and so that I might display Your love to those around me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

0 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page